Before you read this recipe, take a minute to learn about the tragedy in Haiti and how you can help.  Here is a link where you can donate $5 via text – every little bit will help.

I don’t have enough time to sit and eat a nice breakfast every morning – it’s usually in my car (i use nice silverware to be civilized).  I also tend to eat lunch at my desk and snacks on the go.  These are all bad habits.  But, I’m busy and sometimes that means eating and multi-tasking.  This recipe is PERFECT for these occasions and they look very gourmet (especially compared to the hunk of chicken and 1/2 cucumber that you’ll normally see me eating at my desk).  This is totally portable and would make an excellent breakfast, lunch or snack.   Or appetizer for a dinner party. Radicchio is also in-season…extra bonus!

Ingredients (makes 8 Radicchio Wraps)
–  2 cooked boneless skinless chicken breasts – shredded or cut in small pieces
– 1 radicchio
– 2 celery stalks – cut into small pieces
– 1/4 C chopped basil
– 2 Tbsp olive oil
–  2 Tbsp lemon juice
– 1 tsp garlic powder (or fresh minced garlic)
– salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Carefully peel and separate the leaves from the radicchio.  Soak them in cold water for a 1-2 minutes – this will help to crisp them up so they maintain their curves.  Let them dry.
  2. In a bowl mix together the chicken, celery and basil
  3. In a small bowl mix together olive oil, garlic powder, lemon juice, salt and pepper
  4. Pour the dressing into the chicken salad and mix
  5. Scoop some of the chicken salad into the radicchio wrap. 
  6. Enjoy!

My Semi-Primal Husband saw me eating these and wasn’t too interested.  I asked him if he wanted a bite so he obliged and said, “wow, this is actually really good.  I want to make these for my lunch!” Then he proceeded to eat the rest of the wrap.  I will take that as a compliment.