I posted this one to my Facebook page a couple weeks ago and people seemed to like it (including a marriage proposal:)), so I’m posting it here.  Excuse the pic as it was taken with my iphone.  This is one of those recipes that I threw together with no thought….I just grabbed a bunch of spices and threw them together.

I completely stole the Taro Chip idea from Chris Kresser from The Healthy Skeptic….he was talking about it when he was on Robb Wolf’s podcast and it peaked my interest.  Coincidentally, they had a big box of Taro Root at my Whole Foods, so I decided to try them out for the first time.  They are a Hawaiian root veggie and that makes me very happy because I massively heart Hawaii.   I realize it’s far from local, but sometimes you need to support the islands too!

Ingredients (serves 2):
Turkey Cutlets

– 2-3 turkey cutlets (or chicken or veal or whatever cutlet)
– 1 Tbsp coconut oil
– 1 Tbsp Cumin
– 1 Tbsp Coriander
– 1.5 tsp Paprika
– 1 tsp ground mustard
– 1 tsp ground garlic
– salt and pepper

Taro Chips (serves 2)
– 2-3 taro roots – peeled and sliced in a Mandolin to thin slices.  Or you can finely slice them yourself
– 1.5 Tbsp of coconut oil
– sea salt

Directions for Turkey Cutlets:

  1. Mix together spices and rub liberally onto both sides of turkey cutlets.
  2. Heat a non-stick skillet with the coconut oil.  Once the pan is at a medium-high heat, add each cutlet.
  3. Cook for 2-3 min.  Flip and cook the other side for 2-3 minutes.
  4. I served mine on a bed of arugula with some cherry tomatoes and an olive oil/balsamic dressing

Directions for Taro Chips:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. Melt coconut oil.
  3. On a baking sheet lined with foil, spread out sliced taro – pour coconut oil over top and sprinkle with salt.  Mix around thoroughly to ensure both sides of each taro piece is coated.
  4. Bake for 20-30 minutes or until they start to brown.
  5. Enjoy

Fully Primal Husband gave the following testimonial, “The turkey is good….it’s nice to have something light.  But I LOVE the Taro Chips.  Oh my god, those are good. They taste just like potato chips!” Agreed.  These are easily a new favourite of mine and when I go to Kauai in August I am going to find some local Taro and go nuts.