I posted “Squash is so hot right now” to the status on my FB Fan page and got quite a few responses.  It appears squash has lots of fans and I am certainly one of them.   Spaghetti squash is a wicked alternative to pasta and if you create a great sauce, it is delicious.  This is my go-to spaghetti squash recipe.  It’s not original or very creative, but I love it and it is so easy to make, so I thought it was about time I posted it.

Note: the serving says 4 and that is a function of the squash.  This quantity will make a huge batch of the bolognese – you can either freeze the extra or eat it on its own.  I had some with sautéed spinach one day for breakfast….because that is how I roll.

Ingredients (serves 4)
– 1 large spaghetti squash
– 2 lbs of ground beef (grass-fed) or any ground meat
– 1 Tbsp olive oil or butter
– 3 cloves of garlic – chopped
– 4-6 shallots (or an onion)
–  2 cups of sliced mushrooms
– 3 zucchini – halved and sliced
– 1/2 C chopped fresh basil
– 1 Large can of chopped tomatoes (get the kind without additives)
– 1 can of tomato paste
– fresh ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Prep the squash.  Pre-heat oven to 400.  While the oven is warming up, cut the squash in half lengthwise down the middle.  Scoop out the seeds and guts with a spoon.
  2. On a baking sheet, place the squash skin-side up.  Bake for about 30 minutes or until it is easily pierced with a fork.
  3. While the squash is baking, make the bolognese.  In a large skillet, heat the olive oil.  Add the shallots and garlic and saute for about 2 min.
  4. Add the zucchini and mushrooms and saute until they are tender – about 7 minutes
  5. Remove the veggies from the skillet and set aside.
  6. Put the ground beef into the skillet – you probably won’t require more cooking fat as there should be enough in the beef.  Cover and allow the beef to cook – stirring regularly for about 7 minutes.
  7. Once the beef is 95% cooked, add the tomatoes, tomato paste and basil.  Saute for another 2 minutes.
  8. Add the zucchini/mushroom back in and simmer for about 5 more minutes.
  9. Once the spaghetti squash is done, remove it from the oven and scrap the strands of the squash into a bowl.  Use a fork to scrape them out of the skin.  If you are a spaghetti squash virgin, you will have fun doing this the first time.  It is pretty cool!  (I know, I don’t get out often)
  10. Now it is ready to serve.  Put some squash in a bowl and add a few big spoonfuls of the bolognese.
  11. Enjoy!

Fully Primal Husband didn’t eat this one.  I hogged it all to myself and ate it everyday for my lunch and sometimes breakfast too.  I’m sure he would have said something like, “It’s good.  Ya, I like it.”  We’ll use this as his psuedo-testimonial.