It’s that time of year again…New Year’s Eve!  Perhaps you are wallowing in misery over the fact that you weigh more than you did at the beginning of last year when you promised yourself that “this year is going to be different!”  Or you’re in the midst of inhaling every last bit of sugar because “starting January 1st, you are going to be perfect so you might as well enjoy the sugary bliss now!”  Or perhaps you’re setting a bunch of resolutions that you will likely never follow through on and you’ll be beating yourself up about come April.  This is why I am proposing to ditch the resolutions.  It seems to me that every year around this time, I see people who spend more time commiserating about their failures and punishing themselves for their self-proclaimed under-achievements vs reflecting on things that they actually did accomplish.  It is a horrible negative feedback loop of self-punishment that does not get you anywhere.

Rather than beating yourself up for riding another year on the treadmill of failure, take a few minutes to write down the things that you DID achieve in 2011.  Unless you are Rob Ford (the horrible Mayor of Toronto), you likely have many things that you accomplished.  These things can be as simple as, “I ate more Kale” or “I took my Vitamin D supplements” or “I made an effort to see my friend’s more often.”   Take a few moments to pat yourself on the back for the things that you did achieve.  Here are a few of mine:

– I made it through another year of school, working full-time, working part-time and being a good wife without having full-blown adrenal fatigue! YAY!
– I gave up Gossip Girl, Desperate Housewives and Jersey Shore in order to spend more quality time with my husband
– I became comfortable with the fact that I will never fit into my size 28 jeans again because increasing my back squat is WAY more important to me
– I ate way more organ meats that I ever imagined
– I became a Coach at Quantum CrossFit and love every second of it
….and the list goes on.

Back to resolutions….I am not saying that you should ditch the commitment to bettering yourself.  I think this is important, but it is also something that should be done continuously throughout the year….Don’t save your commitments to 1 time per year.     Rather than setting specific goals this new year (which is something that Krista at Stumptuous wrote a great piece about), try creating some mantras for yourself instead.  Create a set of mantras which will act as your guideline to living the best you in 2012.  Mantras will help to create self-awareness around some of your short-comings and will also help you to consistently better yourself by acting as reminders for how you can be a better person.

Create your mantras and write them down….take a few moments first thing in the morning or before you go to bed at night to say an affirmation to yourself as it relates to your mantras.  Affirmations are an excellent way of shifting your mindset and will help to create long-lasting changes.  Here are my mantras for 2012 and in classic CPG style, I have related them to my hero’s of the 80’s and 90’s hair metal movement:

#1 – Axl Rose  “I am OK with not being perfect.”

Remember how Axl Rose took 15 years to finish the much anticipated album Chinese Democracy?  His addiction to perfection prevented him from releasing it any sooner because lord knows he was probably tweaking every last note trying to achieve perfection.  I wrote about my addiction to perfection  in this recent post.  My affirmation will read something like this, “I am not perfect and I am OK with that.  I do the best that I can and this is something I am proud of.”

#2 – Slash “I will make a conscious effort to collaborate”

Slash has collaborated with everyone from Michael Jackson to Fergie.  I must admit that I have not done the best job of collaborating with others.  This is partially because I often perceive collaboration as kissing someone’s ass.  It is also because I feel that unless I am 100% aligned to what other people are saying, I do not tend to support or collaborate with them.  I will make more of an effort to support others and find the commonalities in our principles. I will #FF and “Like” other people’s projects.

#3 – Vince Neil “I will be aware of negative self-talk and stop punishing myself”

How often do you find yourself punishing yourself via negative self talk?  Seriously, how much time have you wasted in your life punishing yourself by putting yourself down?!?!  Unfortunately I still do this often and much of this stems from my addiction to appearance (which is a whole other post).  Look what happened to Vince Neil! He’s a plastic surgery victim….his addiction to appearance has moulded him into a geriatric Ken doll.  I will make a conscious effort to become aware of my negative self-talk.  When negative thoughts pop into my head I will stop myself and question them.  I will use affirmations to love my imperfections and release myself from my own criticism.

#4 – Bon Jovi “I will make this career last”

“Who-ooohhh, we’re half way there….Whoaaa-aaaaahhh, livin on a prayer!!!”  I am 8 months away from being a Registered Holistic Nutritionist and this is both very exciting and terrifying.  Exciting because this is my passion and what I am meant to do in life.  Terrifying because at some point I am going to have to cut ties with my cushy corporate gig and take the leap to commit to this career full-time.  Like Bon Jovi, I am seeking longevity through this career change…not a one hit wonder.  I will let go of the fear that I have and get comfortable with the risk.  I am confident that this is my destiny and by gosh I will make it happen!  Lastly, “I will hold on because ready or not, I live for the fight when that’s all that I’ve got.”

What are your mantras for 2012?

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!

XOXO