i promised leather pants and a headband

Thank you for tuning in for today’s riveting conclusion.  In  yesterday’s post I reflected on what I have learned and gained from my 30 days without caffeine.  Today I will share what my future plans are with caffeine…

For the past week I have been giving a lot of thought as to what I’m going to do now that my 30 days are up…In my brain, I cannot get Axl’s voice out of my head screaming, “where do we go now…ooooaaaoooaaa.”  In Sweet Child O Mine (in case you didn’t get that reference), Axl is singing about his tumultuous relationship with a woman –  Likely a woman who is rough around the edges sporting red stilettos,  teased hair and 2 distinct tones of eyeshadow.    I can relate to Axl.  Coffee takes me away to that special place… reminding me of a time when everything was as fresh as the bright blue sky….and over the past 30 days I have found that if I stare to long, I will probably break down and cry.   Alas, now I need to make a decision – do I go back to my love affair with coffee or do I move forward with fond memories of our time together?

I have seen so many benefits from this experiment, but I need to be honest with you.  I REALLY MISS COFFEE!  THAT BEING SAID, I don’t miss the jolt.  I don’t miss having trouble sleeping or feeling like a zombie when I wake up.  I miss the taste.  Herbal tea is just not cutting it for me.  I need that rich, strong flavour that only coffee can deliver.  Fortunately, there is a happy median called Decaf. Yes, it has some caffeine in it – only 15mg vs 180mg in a comparable coffee.  I do not think this low level of caffeine will do anything for me, so it is a safe alternative.

I AM SO READY FOR THIS! Yesterday I bought Kicking Horse Decaf and a mini Bodum to brew my own coffee (because FPH is still drinking the real deal).  I have the beans ground and ready to be brewed.  I am counting down the hours until I get reunited with my favourite hot drink (T-minus 12 hours).  I am going to stick to decaf and see how things go.  I am going to pay extra attention to my sleep and how I feel in the morning to make sure I am not compromising the way I feel.  Can I promise that I will never go back to regular coffee?  No.  But I am definitely committing to never falling back into my excessive habits.  I am now well aware of my tendency to rely on caffeine for energy and I am going to avoid using it for this purpose.

Many people have told me that, “they could never give up coffee for 30 days.”  I was one of these people too.  When I attended the Whole9 seminar in August, Melissa and Dallas told me they were embarking on a Whole30 +no caffeine and I gave them the same response.  “You are crazy.  There is no way I could do go without caffeine.”    But I did it and I am so happy that I was able to stick with the program.  My advice for anyone looking to do their own 30 day challenge (whether it is food related or something different) is to share what you are doing with everyone around you.  Not only will they give you praise and support, but it also gives you some accountability.  Having this blog made me commit to finishing the 30 days….there is no way I would let my readers down and be defeated by failure.  Without this blog as my outlet I’m not sure I would’ve been motivated to stick with it.    Thank you to my readers and fellow Whole30’ers.  And a BIG thank you to my readers who also did 30 days without caffeine!  You guys rock!

How are my comrades?  What are you going to do now that 30 days is up?