This is the second recipe in my “Squash is so hot right now” repertoire and all I have to say is, “Hot damn! This squash is GOOD!”  I was hooked on this squash like my pre-primal addiction to Diet Dr. Pepper.  The inclusion of balsamic vinegar makes the squash taste like candy…..mmmmm, sweet, sweet candy.  I picked up a gi-normous butternut squash at the farmer’s market and it lasted me the entire week as a side dish for breakfast and dinner….for $3.

On a side note, the broccoli/cauli mix in the picture is the Lemon-Mustard Cauliflower recipe from the Primal Blueprint cookbook. It is creamy veggie goodness.  Fully Primal Husband gave the following testimonial, “This is so good! It tastes just like my mom’s broccoli casserole!” Mom #2’s (that’s what I call my mother-in-law) broccoli casserole is so good…but it definitely contains some non-primal ingredients.   On a side, side, note, I’m hooked on this cookbook.  It has completely distracted me from coming up with my own recipes, so you can blame Mark Sisson for my lack of contributions as of late:)

Ingredients (serves many)
– 1 HUGE butternut squash
– 3 Tbsp melted butter
– 1 Tbsp of balsamic vinegar
– 1 tsp garlic powder
– 1 tsp paprika
– 1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (depending on your spice tolerance)
– sea salt and ground pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375.
  2. Prep the squash.  OK, you are going to need to mentally prepare for this as it is a serious arm workout.  Peel the squash (I recon this is equivalent to doing 100 kb swings), cut in half (also a feat of strength) and then cut into 1-2 inch cubes.
  3. Spread the squash out over a baking sheet.
  4. In a small bowl, combine all the other ingredients. Pour over the squash and mix around to spread evenly.
  5. Bake for about an hour.  My oven is not very fast, so yours may be completed sooner.  Check it every 20 minutes and toss it around to cook evenly.  It should be tender and easily forked when finished.
  6. Enjoy!!

Fully Primal Husband gave this following testimonial, “YES! This squash is awesome.”