I’m back!! Things have been insanely busy and as a result this blog needed to take a back seat to my other endeavors…..Work, School, Haute Life, marriage, 2 Dogs (1 that recently needed surgery), crossfit, catching up on my PVR’d MTV and CW shows and staying up-to-speed on the latest TMZ gossip.   I can’t believe Lindsay is in jail again!  drama!!  Despite the whirlwind that is my life, I still eat clean proving that it does not take much time to nourish yourself well.  If I ever hear someone say, “But, I’m too busy to cook,” I may have to give them a serious beat-down.  I need to do a post on meal planning because I think I need to share how I manage to pull it off.   Anywhoo, here is a great recipe that I didn’t entirely come up with myself.  I was at my farmer’s market (Apple Tree Market – Thursday’s from 3-7pm at Yonge & Eglinton in Toronto) and I picked up a bunch of Tomatillos aka green tomatoes.  I got them from HighMark Farms and the owner, Chef Jim Hayward, gave me his special recipe for Tomatillo Salsa.  I also got some grass-fed ground beef from Field Sparrow Farms at the market so I figured I would combine the 2 and make a wicked Taco-less salad.  You could sub regular Tomatoes for the Tomatillos if you can’t get your hands on some.  This recipe requires a food processor, but I think a blender or hand blender would work.  Here you go:

Ingredients (serves 2-4.  You will have salsa leftovers)
Salsa:

– 1 lb tomatillo tomatoes (about 12-15) husk removed, washed, cut in half
– 2 Jalapenos – cut in half, stem and seeds removed
– 1/2 C fresh cilantro
– 1/2 C white onion – cut in big chunks
– 2 garlic cloves
– 1 Tbsp olive oil
– juice of 1/2 lime
– pinch of sea salt
Taco-Less Salad
– 1 lb Ground beef – grass-fed if you have access to it.
– 2 Tbsp chili powder
– 1 Tbsp cumin
– 1 Romaine – washed, spun and cut
– Guacamole to top it off

Directions:

  1. Make the salsa first.  Pre-heat oven to 350.  Place tomatillos, jalapenos, onion and garlic in a baking dish.  Drizzle with olive oil and salt.  Mix around.  Cook for 20-25 minutes or until tomatillos get slightly brown and soft.
  2. Allow the tomatillos etc to cool down.  You could jump to step #4 and start on the beef while the tomatillos cool, but you’ll need the salsa before the beef has finished cooking.
  3. Put the tomatillos, jalapenos, garlic and onion in the food processor or blender.  Add cilantro and lime juice.  Process until it forms a salsa-y consistency.  Set aside.
  4. Now start on the beef.  In a large skillet, heat to med-high.  Add ground beef, cumin and chili powder.  Saute until beef is 90% cooked.
  5. Add 1/2 of the tomatillo salsa mixture to the beef and continue cooking until the beef is 100% finished cooking.
  6. Serve on a bed of romaine and top with a dollop of guacamole.  Add more salsa if desired.
  7. The remaining salsa will keep in a container in the fridge for up to 1 week.
  8. Enjoy!

Fully Primal Husband wasn’t home when I made this the first time and I wasn’t there when he ate it.  I don’t like to post his remarks unless they are spontaneous and verbatim, so I don’t have anything this time.  I did give a bite to one of my co-workers who wanted to taste what grass-fed beef was all about…he said, “it tastes like a farm”  (Grass-fed beef definitely tastes a bit different, but that is what beef is supposed to taste like).  That is the worst testimonial ever!  Trust me, it is delicious!

Salsa, post baking

leftover salsa