meat scale courtesy of http://www.webdesignerdepot.com

 

Bacon….mmmmm.  How I love thee.  Perfectly cooked bacon is like finding that perfect red wine to go with your steak.  You take your time to savour each bite and cook the perfect eggs to pair with it.  Much like a fine wine, I save my bacon for special occasions to treat myself.  I go for the high quality, naturally raised pork with no nitrates.  You can go all out on some quality bacon, but if you ruin the cooking of the bacon it’s about as bad as getting cork in your fine wine.  You have to be careful not to over or under-cook the bacon.  Personally, I love nice crispy bacon.  But how does one achieve this perfect bacon?  I introduce to you, the bacon scale.

The microwave technique is like a bad house wine served at a wedding – bearable, but never something you’d choose for a special occasion.  The frying pan technique is like a nice merlot from a good restaurant – it’s dependable and tasty.  It works well on a regular basis.  Then there is the baked bacon…..

I woke up a couple of weeks ago to the sweet aroma of bacon and came downstairs to find Fully Primal Husband with a rack of perfectly cooked bacon.  “What is this rack?” I asked.  FPH replied, “I wanted to try baking the bacon….I saw it on the Food Network and it looked good.”  I picked up a piece of bacon to examine it…..it was perfectly crisp all the way through and didn’t bend or flop to one side.  “This is amazing!” I replied, before I had even taken a bite.  But once I bit into that piece of bacon, I experienced my first Bacorgasm.  If there was a Bacon Heaven, this would be it.  I told FPH that he had to try it….his response was “holy sh*t! WOW. Oh My God.  WOW.  This is so good.  That is the best bacon I’ve ever had.”  We were immediately hooked on this new level of bacon, vowing to never use the frying pan again.  

Perhaps you already know about this bacon cooking technique?  Well, that makes you a bacon aficionado.  I suppose I’m now in the club.  It really is amazing how you can create magic just by using your oven instead of the pan.  

Here is how it works:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 400
  2. Put strips of bacon on a rack over a foiled lined baking sheet.  NOTE: The rack is essential.
  3. Cook in oven for about 20 minutes.  Do not turn.  Do not touch.  Let it do it’s own magic.
  4. Savour.

How do you take your bacon?