It’s been way too long since I posted a recipe and I apologize for everyone who’s been waiting anxiously hitting refresh. I was basking in my 15 min of blogger fame from being linked on Robb Wolf’s website.  In all seriousness, I’ve been really busy –  but I promise I’m going to make a valiant effort to post recipes more often.  Here is a really simple recipe for Mussels.  Mussels are great because they’re cheap ($5 for 1lb), really easy to make and you feel a bit glamorous eating them.  Also, I like the word Mussels because it sounds like Muscles.  Here you go:  

Ingredients (serves 2)
– 1 lb of mussels – cleaned and de-bearded (google for instructional videos if you don’t know how)
– 1 can of coconut milk
– 1 Tbsp fresh minced ginger
– 1 stalk of lemongrass – cut into 1″ chunks (google if you don’t know how to prep a lemongrass stalk)
– 1 Tbsp garam masala
– 1 Cup stock (fish would be best, but I used chicken and it tasted great)
–  5 shalots – chopped
– 1 Tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, heat olive oil and add shalots.  Saute until shalots are softened.
  2. Add coconut milk, ginger, lemongrass, stock and garam masala.  Stir to mix together.
  3. Bring to a simmer and then add mussels.  
  4. Cover and let them cook for about 8-10 min or until the mussels have opened up wide.
  5. Serve in a bowl.
  6. Make sure you don’t eat the one’s that haven’t opened!  That is bad news!
  7. Enjoy!

I served it with a Cabbage/Radish/Carrot slaw that my food processor whipped together with a ginger/garlic/olive oil/white wine vinegar dressing – i should post the recipe because it was good!  Semi-Primal Husband gave the following testimonial, “Good job on the sauce Summer, these are really good! We need to make this more often.”