This is the 3rd recipe in my Paleo Superbowl Recipe series – Super Spicy Paleo Chili.  I know there are a million other Paleo Chili recipes out there, so I’m sure this isn’t very original.  My rendition includes mushrooms and zucchini to substitute the beans.
I have to say “Super” Spicy, because:
a) it sounds more valley-girl, and 
b) I think I saw Semi-Primal Husband breath fire
c) It’s for the Superbowl
It might be because I ran out of chili powder and had to sub cayenne pepper.  The recipe I’m sharing doesn’t include the cayenne pepper so you might be OK.   I really liked the spiciness and I recommend eating with a glob of guacamole on top to balance out the spice.

Before I write the recipe, I have to confess that my pug Walter ate my recipe – I write down my quantities in a fury as I’m cooking on a scrap piece of paper.   Walter was not getting the attention he wanted and grabbed the paper off the table and swallowed it.  I’m doing this from memory but I’m pretty sure I’ve captured everything:

Ingredients (Serves 6-8)
– 2 Lbs Lean Ground Beef (or other ground meat)
– 1/2 lb stewing Veal (or stewing beef)
–  1/4 C olive oil
– 1 huge zucchini or 2 med size
– 3-4 cups of sliced mushrooms (i used button)
–  1 large red onion – chopped
– 6 cloves of garlic (about 2 Tbsp) – chopped
–  1 28oz can of chopped tomatoes (organic or w/out added stuff)
–  1 can of tomato paste
– 3-4 C Chicken stock
– 4 Tbsp chili powder (or to your spice tolerance level).  Try 3 and then add more if you like.  This is where I had to sub 2 Tbsp’s w/ Cayenne
– 1 Tbsp cumin
–  1 Tbsp pureed chipotle pepper (I found a mostly Paleo President’s Choice variation at Loblaws in the Mexican section)
– salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a large pot and add meat.  Sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper .  You want the veal to sear and brown on all sides.  At the same time you need to break up the ground meat to get it to brown too.
  2. Once meat has browned, remove and set aside in a bowl
  3. Add onions, garlic, chili powder and cumin to pot.  Saute for about 3-4 minutes or until onions have softened.
  4. Put the meat back in the pot and add all other ingredients.  Add the chicken stock last and try just using 3 cups, then add a 4 if needed.  You want to cover the veggies and meat, but not make it too soupy.  My chili came out a bit more watery than I would have preferred, so next time I would use less stock.
  5. Let it simmer for 45 minutes.
  6. Serve with a glob of guacamole or if you’re like my Semi-Primal Husband, some shredded cheese.

My Semi-Primal Husband gave the following testimonial, “Whoa, this is really spicy.  I like it, but i have to admit that I really miss the beans. This would be really good with your Notcho’s”  

Walter is on the left - sleepy after he ate the recipe. Vegas is on the right, she's dreaming of the day she'll get her paws on my beef.