Yesterday was my Semi-Primal Husband’s birthday so I wanted to make his favourite Paleo treat.  This is the Gorilla Cake from Son of Grok, but I’ve slightly modified it based on the ingredients I had available and to bake 2 mini-cakes.  This is also one of my favourite desserts to make because it’s super easy and you can modify the ingredients to suit your tastes if you prefer more banana or more coconut flavour.  If you want the whole cake recipe, here is the link.

Ingredients (for 2 Mini-Cakes)
Crust
– 1/4 Cup Almond Flour
– 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
– Sprinkle of Cinnamon
Filling
1 really ripe banana (i buy a bunch, let them get brown and then freeze them for future baking)
– 1/4 Cup Unsweetened Shredded Coconut
– 3 Tbsp Coconut Milk
– 1/2 of 1 Egg 
– Sprinkle of Cinnamon 

Directions
1.  Pre-heat oven to 350.
2. Melt coconut oil and mix with almond flour and cinnamon (this is your crust)
3. Press the crust thinly into 2 muffin wrappers in the muffin baking pan – cover the bottom and at least 1/2 way up the sides
4. Bake the crust for ~7 minutes or until it’s turned darker
5. While the crust bakes, mash up the banana (i run it through the food processor to get the best consistency) 
6. Add in the coconut, egg and mix thoroughly
7. Remove the crust from the oven and pour the filling in.  Sprinkle some cinnamon on top
8. Bake for another 10-15 minutes – until the filling has baked through (use a toothpick to poke through the filling and if it comes out clean, you’re good to go) 
9.  We like these best cold, so I usually put them in the fridge.  You can eat them warm if you like. 

My Semi-Primal Husband provided the following testimonial: “This is my favourite dessert!”  

Happy Birthday Mike!  I love you!!