Served with a side of steamed asparagus

It’s been far too long since my last post!  I was on vacation in St. Lucia, West Indies with no access to internet, tv, reality etc.  While I was there I found an abundance of inspiration for new recipes.  The food in St. Lucia was delicious… I loved anything Creole, anything jerk, the fresh banana’s and the Indian coconut curries – made with fresh local coconut!  In my best efforts to keep the holiday vibe alive in my house, I’m going to be attempting to re-create some of the amazing food…Paleo-style.  This first recipe is a basic tomato creole sauce that I used to bake Halibut in.  Creole cooking is influenced by many different cultures so you’ll find different takes on it – this tomato based recipe is really easy and adds a lot of flavour to your plain old fish. You could use any white fish – in St. Lucia I had this served with fresh King fish and Blue Marlin.

Ingredients (serves 4)
- 4 pieces of white fish – I used wild Halibut
- 1 onion – chopped
- 5 cloves of garlic – chopped
- 1 red pepper – chopped
- 1 green pepper – chopped
- 2 tomatoes – skin removed, chopped – if you’re short on time, i’m sure you could leave the skin on
- 1 C chicken stock
- 1 Tbsp white wine vinegar
- 1 tsp red chili paste
- juice of 1/2 a lime
- 4 Tbsp olive oil 

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350
  2. In a large skillet, heat olive oil.  Add onion, garlic and peppers.  Saute for about 4 min – until softened.
  3. Add the tomatoes and saute for another 2 min.
  4. Add the chicken stock and simmer for about 10 min or until it’s reduced
  5. Add the vinegar, lime juice and red chili pepper.  Mix around and remove from heat.
  6. In a casserole dish, place the fish skin-side down.  Pour the sauce over the fish.
  7. Bake in the oven for ~15 min or until cooked through
  8. Enjoy!

sauce simmering